The British Politics Group is a nonpartisan research association dedicated to encouraging the study of British politics and to supporting communication about research on British politics in the United States, across the Atlantic, and around the world. Founded in 1975, our membership consists of around 200 faculty, graduate students, and other interested individuals in the United States, the United Kingdom, and many other countries. Activities of the BPG include sponsoring panels on British politics at the annual meetings of the American Political Science Association, organizing special conferences on current issues in British politics, promoting members’ research activities, welcoming members and friends at an annual reception, and sponsoring three scholarly awards:

  1. The Samuel H. Beer Prize for the Best PhD Dissertation on British Politics written by a doctoral student enrolled at a North American University;
  2. The Donald E. Stokes Dissertation Research Fellowship; and
  3. The James B. Christoph Prize for the Best Conference Paper on British Politics by a junior faculty member.

Please see our Membership page for further information, if you are interested in joining us. The BPG is a Related Group of the American Political Science Association (APSA membership is separate).

Janet Laible, Associate Professor of Political Science, Lehigh University

Executive Director, The British Politics Group